Friday, May 24, 2013


The trustees of the Martin Wise Goodman Trust announce that LAURA-JULIE PERREAULT 38, staff reporter at La Presse, has been awarded the twenty second Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship.

This fellowship is funded by a publicly subscribed permanent endowment in memory of Martin Wise Goodman, late President of Toronto Star Newspapers Limited.

Laura-Julie will join eleven other foreign journalists and twelve American journalists in the 76th class of Nieman Fellows at Harvard University.  The fellowship carries a stipend for living expenses and payment of fees to Harvard University.

Laura-Julie Perreault is a staff reporter who covers international affairs for Montreal's La Presse, where she has worked for over 10 years. Through the years, she has worked in over 35 countries, covering subjects ranging from the Chechen war and the Tunisian revolution to the famine in Somalia. For her international coverage, Perreault has received a Canadian National Newspaper Award as well as an Amnesty International Award. At home, in her native French Canada, she has focused on immigration issues and the impact of anti-terror laws on immigrant communities. A graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where she was a Morehead scholar, Laura-Julie Perreault has worked at Quebec City's Le Soleil, for the Moscow bureau of CNN and for London-based Gemini News Service before joining La Presse. At Harvard, she plans to study issues facing women combatants as well as state building and democratization in post-dictatorial states.

“The Selection Committee was very impressed with Laure-Julie’s investigative and story-telling skills and dedication to her craft,” said Jonathan Goodman, Chair of the Canadian Nieman Fellowship.  “We are certain that she will benefit immensely from, yet also contribute strongly to, the upcoming Nieman class of 2014.”

The Nieman Fellowships were established for American journalists in 1938 in memory of Lucius W. Nieman, founder of the Milwaukee Journal. It provides for a year of study for working journalists in any department of Harvard University as well as a seminar program. Previously, thirteen Canadian journalists had gone to Harvard on this program under other funding, including Martin Goodman (Nieman fellow class of '62).

The first twenty-one recipients of the Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowships were as follows: Paul Knox of the Globe and Mail, Gregory Weston of the Ottawa Citizen, Mary Lou Finlay of CBC Radio Toronto, Jamie Lamb of the Vancouver Sun, Jonathon Ferguson of the Toronto Star, Jennifer Lewington of the Globe and Mail, Tom Reagan of the Halifax Daily News, Joe Hall of the Toronto Star, Terry Gilbert of the Calgary Herald, Paul Carvalho of CBC TV News Montreal, Laura Eggerston of Canadian Press, Bonnie Lafave of CBC TV Toronto, Jim Meek of the Halifax Herald, Laura Lynch of CBC Radio Vancouver, Paule Robitaille of CBC Latin American Bureau, John Geddes of Maclean’s Magazine, Christian Rioux of Le Devoir, Bill Schiller of the Toronto Star, James Baxter of the Edmonton Journal, Jana Juginovic of CTV and David Skok of

This year’s Canadian Nieman Fellowship Selection committee consisted of Clark Davey, formerly of Southam; Mary Lou Finlay, formerly of the CBC; Malcolm Kirk, president of The Canadian Press; John Honderich, Chair of Torstar; Douglas Knight, President of St. Joseph Media; Jonathan Goodman, Chair of the Canadian Nieman Fellowship and Janis Goodman, wife of the late Martin Goodman.